Sumit Roy, Integrated Systems Professor
  • Website
  • 206.221.5261
  • EEB M330

Sumit Roy received the B. Tech. degree from the Indian Institute of Technology (Kanpur) in 1983, and the M. S. and Ph. D. degrees from the University of California (Santa Barbara), all in Electrical Engineering in 1985 and 1988 respectively, as well as an M. A. in Statistics and Applied Probability in 1988. Presently he is Integrated Systems Professor of Electrical Engineering, Univ. of Washington where his research interests include analysis/design of wireless communication and sensor network systems with a current emphasis on wireless LANs (802.11) and wireless MANs (802.16), multi-standard wireless inter-networking and cognitive radio platforms, and sensor networking involving RFID technology. He is also exploring applications and extensions of networking technologies and principles to new domains such as social, energy and biological  networks.

He spent 2001-03 on academic leave at Intel Wireless Technology Lab as a Senior Researcher engaged in systems architecture and standards development for ultra-wideband systems (Wireless PANs) and next generation high-speed wireless LANs. His activities for the IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) includes membership of several technical and conference program committees (most recently, Vice Chair of Technical Program Committee for IEEE WCNC05 conference).  He has served as Associate Editor for IEEE Trans. Communications and IEEE Trans. on Wireless Communications and currently serves on the Editorial Board for IEEE Trans. Communications, IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems and Wiley J. Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing. He was elevated to IEEE Fellow by Communications Society in 2007 for his “contributions to multi-user communications theory and cross-layer design of wireless networking standards.”

PhD Graduate Students

Collin Brady
  • EEB 445

Collin Brady earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Chicago. He received a Masters degree from the University of Washington in Electrical engineering and is currently pursuing his PhD in Electrical engineering from the University of Washington. His Research interests include Wireless Communications in Public Safety Networks.

Hao Yin
  • EEB 445

Hao Yin is a Ph.D. candidate in Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Washington, having received his B.S. degree from the Huazhong University of Science and Technology of China in 2019. His research focuses on wireless networks, with a particular interest in networking simulation and the development of Wi-Fi networks for future applications in extended reality (XR) and gaming.

Liu Cao
  • EEB 445

Liu Cao received a B.E. degree in Electrical Engineering from Jinan University, Guangzhou, China, in 2017, and an M.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA, in 2019. He is currently pursuing a Ph.D. degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA. His research interests include 5G NR, V2X, and machine learning for wireless communications.

Lyutianyang Zhang
  • EEB 445

Lyutianyang Zhang received his B.E. degree in electronic communication from The Australian National University and Beijing Institute of Technology in 2017. He received an M.S. degree in Electrical & Computer Engineering and Applied Mathematics at the University of Washington in the Fall of 2019 and 2022. He started his Ph.D. in Electrical & Computer Engineering in 2019 and is currently a 5th-year Ph.D. student. His research focuses on resource allocation problems in wireless communications systems aided by optimization theory and machine learning/deep learning: 1) Deep learning-based channel access in Wi-Fi systems emphasizing multi-link operation and access point coordination; 2) resource allocation based on multi-objective optimization theory in mobile edge computing considering powder budge, latency requirement, channel capacity, etc.; 3) Scheduler design in 5G communication system.


Sachin Nayak
  • EEB 445

Sachin is a promising computer scientist, pursuing doctoral studies on ultra-reliable & low-latency communications for 5G. Before venturing out into the wilderness, Sachin researched, built and evaluated next generation Television systems for 3 years at the Japanese electronics giant- Sony.

Sachin is passionate about leadership, i.e., “driving people towards common goals”. Excited about sports, writing, coding and cooking.

Much earlier in 2016, Sachin completed his B.Tech in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras and won the prestigious Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Prize, given to the best all-round graduating student.

Xiangyu Gao

Xiangyu Gao received a B.S. degree in communication engineering from Xidian University, Xi’an, China, in 2018, and an M.S. degree in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA, in 2020. He is now pursuing a Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering at the University of Washington. His research interests include automotive sensor fusion, statistical signal processing, deep learning, and autonomous driving.

Affiliated Faculty

Farzad Hessar
Payman Arabshahi
  • Website
  • 206-221-6990
Tom Henderson
Xudong Wang
  • Website
  • +86-021-34207221

Affiliated Researchers

Guanbin Xing
  • EEB 307R

Dr. Guanbin Xing joined CMMB Vision — UW EE Center on Satellite Multimedia and Connected Vehicles in 2017 as a research scientist working on the mmWave radar signal processing and machine learning based sensor fusion solutions for autonomous driving. Dr. Xing received the B.S. and the M.S. degrees from Peking University (Beijing, China) in 1996 and 1999 respectively, and the Ph.D. degree from University of Washington (Seattle, WA) in 2004, all in Electrical Engineering.


Post Doc. and Visiting Scholars

Rajiv Vijaykumar
Chittabrata Ghosh
You-chang Ko
Soo-Young Shin
Eui-seok Hwang
Sejin Kim
Sung-Joon Park
Yanling Yin
Jianyuan Feng
Aimin Tang
Hao Feng
Morteza Mehrnoush
Leonardo Lanante
Weihua Jiang


Alhussein Abouzeid
Rohit Gupta
Jing Zhu
Ling Luo
Lei Shao
Iyappan Ramachandran
Hongbo Yan
Hui Ma
Fei Ye
Chengyang Li
Hamed Firooz
Linda Bai
Colby Boyer
Abdulmohsen Mutairi
Farzad Hessar
Yue Yang
Shwan Ashrafi
Hossein Safavi
Xuhang Ying
Sian Jin


Rohan Patidar
Kyeong Su Shin
Chang Wook Kim
Benjemin Morgan
Eman Alotaibi
Daniel Daoura
Anna Margolis
Ilango Purushothaman
Martin Duke
Ching Ling Huang
Trevor Bosaw
Haobing Wang
Tommy Shing
Wei Shi
Yoshikazu Nishida
Benjamin Cizdziel
Jarrett Gaddy
Noshad Bagha
Anish Ashok
Evan Ding
Abhinav Jadon
Ali Alansari


Hyunjin Kim
Joshua Stahl
Binwen Xu
Tin Vo